

CES/07/118 6 December 2007

EESC awards Civil Society Prize 2007: Winners are an Italian citizen's network, a Polish business club and a Maltese student travel organisation

The European Economic and Social Committee has chosen the 2007 winners of its prize for organised civil society. The winners will be officially awarded on 12 December 2007, as part of the Committee's plenary session.

The panel of judges, which met on 20 November 2007 under the chairmanship of EESC President **Dimitris Dimitriadis**, unanimously chose three prize-winners for 2007. The theme chosen for 2007 was "the promotion of European integration and identity"

The first prize of 10 000 euro was awarded to **Cittadinanzattiva – Active Citizenship Network (Italy)**. The second prize ex aequo of 5 000 Euro each was awarded to **the Business Centre Club (Poland)** and **the National Student Travel Foundation (Malta)**. The panel unanimously concluded that, through their work, all three candidates had significantly contributed to the promotion of European integration and identity.

The EESC prize for organised civil society aims at rewarding and promoting intellectual work or practical action on a theme which is chosen annually. The 2007 prize is for work or initiatives by civil society organisations or individuals that contribute to the promotion of European integration and identity.

http://eesc.europa.eu/sco/prize civ soc/index en.asp



For more details, please contact: Karel Govaert at the <u>EESC Press Office</u>, 99 rue Belliard, B-1040 Brussels

Tel.: +32 2 546 9396/9586; Mobile: +32 475 75 32 02

Email: press@eesc.europa.eu

Website: http://www.eesc.europa.eu/

Press Releases:

http://www.eesc.europa.eu/activities/press/cp/index en.asp (English) http://www.eesc.europa.eu/activities/press/cp/index fr.asp (French)

The European Economic and Social Committee represents the various economic and social components of organised civil society. It is an institutional consultative body established by the 1957 Treaty of Rome. Its consultative role enables its members, and hence the organisations they represent, to participate in the Community decision-making process. The Committee has 344 members, who are appointed by the Council of Ministers.