



Who are we and what do we do?

- The Chronic Pain Policy Coalition (CPPC) is a forum established in 2006 to unite patients, professionals and parliamentarians with the aim of improving the lives of the 14 million people affected by chronic pain in England
- The CPPC promotes policy solutions that contribute towards the improvement of the quality of life of those affected by chronic pain.
- The CPPC works to achieve this by linking representatives of people living with pain, policymakers, parliamentarians and professionals, creating an expert forum to increase awareness and understanding of the issues surrounding pain and facilitating positive action to reduce the impact of pain.
- The CPPC focuses its work in England but also communicates and shares intelligence more widely, working collaboratively across the UK, the EU and more widely.



The Coalition

Our Coalition brings together professional bodies, patient organisations, parliamentarians and industry representatives, with the aim of working together to improve the lives of people living with pain and their families. Including

- Patient Groups: Pain UK, Pain Concern, FMA UK, Endometriosis UK, Shingles Support Society
- Professional bodies: Faculty of Pain Medicine, Royal College of GPs, British Pain Society and Royal College of Nurses, Chartered Society of Physiotherapists
- Corporate supporters: Grunenthal, Kimberly Clark, Lilly, Medtronic, Napp and Sanofi-Pasteur MSD



Executive Committee:

The CPPC is steered by an Executive Committee which has been formed of senior representatives from a broad range of stakeholders who represent leading healthcare professional, patient groups and others including:

- President: Baroness Rennie Fritchie, member of the House of Lords
- Chair: Dr Beverly Collett, Consultant in Pain Medicine
- Vice chair: Neil Betteridge, Patient and Public Representative
- Dr Benjamin Ellis, Senor Policy Advisor, Arthritis Research UK
- Dr Kate Grady, Dean Faculty of Pain Medicine
- Dr Judith Hooper, Director of Public Health, Kirklees Council
- Dr Martin Johnson, RCGP lead for Chronic Pain
- Professor Richard Langford, Past President, British Pain Society
- Beatrix Maynard, Management Consultant specialising in pain services
- Dr Cathy Stannard, Consultant in Pain Medicine
- Dr Ann Taylor, Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University
- Heather Wallace, Chair, Pain Concern
- Professor Paul Watson, Physiotherapist



All Party Parliamentary Group on Chronic Pain

Launched in April 2009, the All-Party Parliamentary Chronic Pain Group is a parliamentary forum for MPs and Peers with an interest in chronic pain.

The cross-party group is a dedicated platform for the advancement of informed policy around this critical but overlooked issue. The CPPC provides the secretariat to the Group

Parliamentary Officers

Linda Riordan MP (Chair)

Dame Anne Begg MP (Secretary)

Baroness Masham of Ilton (*Treasurer*)